In a 2009, American Dental Association member survey, nearly 65% of dentists responded that they believe dental technicians and laboratories are regulated in their state. This is not the case. In fact, only four states in the U.S. require either certification or continuing education.
Contact your state’s Governing Board of Dentistry - click here.
Dentistry has seen a proliferation of new technology and materials. As a result, dentists now more than ever rely upon the skills of a qualified dental technician to assist with material selection and case planning. It is not uncommon for a dental technician to work directly with the dentist in an office setting to meet with patients.
It is important for the dentist to have complete trust and confidence in their technicians’ skills and knowledge. Working with a Certified Dental Technician (CDT) is a great way to ensure success.
Current Environment – 2013
- State Regulation – Basic Standards
- Ten states have existing administrative or statutory laws regulating dental laboratories and/or technicians
- Primary requirements include: lab registration, material and point of origin disclosure, one CDT for each lab or required continuing education (CE).
|Dental Laboratory Basic Minimum Standards by State|
|Year of Initial Enactment||1985||1995||1942||1977||1993||1987||2012||1992||2008||1987||2012|
|Laboratory Registration Fee||$135||n/a||$102||150 †||$200||$50||$200||n/a||$200||n/a|
|Annual||Annual||Annual||Every 2 yrs||2 year**|
|Laboratory Registration||Yes||No||Yes||Yes †||No||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||Yes||No|
|Provide # of Employees|
|Certificate to Perform||No||No||Yes*||No||No||No||No||No||No||No||No|
|CDT or Equivalent||Yes||No||Yes||Yes||No||No||No||No||No||No||No|
|State Laws and Rules|
|Out-of-State Laboratories||Yes||No||Yes||Yes †||No||No||No||No||No||No||No|
|Required to Register|
|Dentists Required to||Yes||No||Yes||Yes †||No||No||Yes ***||No||No||No||No|
|Use Registered Laboratory|
|Material Disclosure||No||Yes****||Yes||Yes †||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||Yes||No||No|
|Point of Origin Disclosure||Yes||Yes****||Yes||Yes †||Yes||Yes||Yes||No||Yes||No||Yes*****|
|CE for One Technician||Yes||No||Yes||Yes||No||Yes||No||No||No||No||No|
|in each Laboratory|
|Laboratory Registration legislation has previously been filed in: Alabama, Georgia, New York, New Jersey, Virginia|
|† Rule adopted by the Kentucky Board of Dentistry. Pending final approval through state LRC administrative rule adoption process|
|* The certificate to perform dental technological work in SC requires each of the following:|
|HS or GED; 2 year DT degree or 3 years OJT; CDT or pass SC state board; and pass SC laws and rules exam|
|** $20 on renewal|
|*** Only for lab work done in MN|
|**** Required on Missouri Dental Association Prescription Form but not required by state law.|
|*****Required by Virginia Board of Dentistry Work Order Form.||Updated February 2014 by NADL|